On My Way

June 26, 2017

Well this is it, the last weekly email I’ll send as a full-time missionary. It is crazy for me to think how fast everything has gone, but I’m excited and giddy to be back home with everyone. I decided for my homecoming talk that I will make it more on the spiritual side, so I will answer some of the “typical” homecoming talk questions for my last weekly email.

  1. What will you miss most?

Besides the people of course, I will miss how convenient Taiwan is. It’s a close and compact country that makes everything pretty easy for you.

  1. What will you miss least?

Sewers. I love Taiwan and just about everything about it, but I could do without the smell of raw sewage from time to time.

  1. Favorite food from Taiwan?

Taiwanese curry with fried pork cutlet. Taiwanese curry is taken from Japan. It’s not very spicy but it is pretty sweet. Very delicious! Also, Taiwanese fruit is unreal.

  1. Favorite area?

Serving in the small islands of Penghu was a pretty surreal experience.

  1. Favorite ward?

I loved serving in the Daya ward in Taichung. It was like a typical, strong ward in the U.S., and I have tons of friends there.

  1. Favorite mission scripture?

1 Corinthians 13

  1. Unique to Taiwanese missionary work?

We do all of our finding on the streets. Almost none of the missionary-found converts come through tracting. Most of the people that I contacted and taught were found at convenient stores or beside me on my bike at a red light.

  1. Greatest change?

Spirituality aside, it’s gotta be that I’m not picky anymore.

  1. Greatest life lesson?

Obedience and diligence are keys to success as a missionary.

  1. Unique to the country you served?

Taiwan is not considered a country by 95% of the rest of the world. They think it’s part of China. It’s not.

  1. Biggest regret?

I have no regrets, but looking back I realize I could have been even more diligent and obedient.

  1. Greatest success?

I was a happy missionary. I never let circumstances or disappointment make me unhappy.

  1. Tips for future missionaries?

Read Preach My Gospel!

  1. What is Taiwan like economically?

I would say that most Taiwanese people would be considered lower middle class in America. About 5% are upper class and very wealthy. That’s what you get with a fiscally social country, right? #FreeCollegeForAll #Bernie2020

  1. Are you scared or hesitant to go home?

 

Consider the lyrics from “On My Way” (Phil Collins) from Disney’s Brother Bear:

Tell everybody I’m on my way

New friends and new places to see

With blue skies ahead, yes

I’m on my way

And there’s nowhere else that I’d rather be

 

Tell everybody I’m on my way

And I’m loving every step I take

With the sun beating down, yes

I’m on my way

And I can’t keep this smile off my face

 

Cause there’s nothing like seeing

Each other again

No matter what the distance between

And the stories that we tell

Will make you smile

Oh it really lifts my heart

 

So tell ‘em all I’m on my way!

穆長老

Elder Sam Moody

 

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Tainan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

