Sharply reproved by a new member

March 27, 2017

This week can be illustrated with an upside-down bell curve. It started really high, dropped pretty low, and then slowly made its way back up to the top.

For P-day, Elder Poon and I went bowling again. I love bowling so much. I’m considering going into it professionally. Going bowing with Elder Poon is a lot like Thanksgiving, turkeys everywhere.

Tuesday was our zone conference. This time it was just our zone and President and Sister Teh. President was kind enough to give us some time for training. We trained on “consecration”. President Teh loved it and commended us for one of his favorite trainings he’s been a part of. That made me feel good. Immediately afterwards I went on exchanges with another missionary in our zone; Elder Bosco. He’s from Provo, and played basketball in high school. However, his family is a football family. His dad is Robbie Bosco, BYU’s quarterback in 1984 when BYU won the national championship. We stayed up a little late talking about that.

Me & Elder Bosco

Thursday night I wrote in my journal, “Today was probably the least effective day of my mission.” I’m not sure if it was the lack of sleep, the fifth transfer in this area, or a little of both, but I was just shot. I think I successfully contacted two people that entire day. Disappointed at the end of the day, I set some new goals to avoid every doing it again.

On Friday I learned an important lesson. Still reeling from the day before, I was a little fragile on Friday morning., I stuck to my goals from the previous night. I woke up a little early, worked out, ate a healthy breakfast, and diligently studied. Throughout the day I was still a little on edge. The heat, humidity, and long hours strain my temperament more than usual, but I forged on and tried to make the best of it.

That evening, Elder Poon took a small break. In my usual laid-back mannerism I relaxed on the couch inside the air-conditioned chapel. My shoes were off and I was sprawled out across the couch when a new member walked into the chapel. I don’t think we’ve spoken more than 10 words to each other. She looked at me and blurted out, “If you didn’t sit sloppily on the couch like that you’d look a whole lot more like a real representative of Christ.” That’s all she said, nothing more and nothing less. All I could get out of my mouth was an embarrassed “O.K.” What I really should have done was flip those two letters around to “K.O” because Elder Moody’s night had just ended in a one sentence knock-out. She was right. I should not have been laying on the couch like that. And my already-fragile confidence was shattered. And it took some time to shake it.

What did I learn through all of this? I learned something about love. I wish she would have corrected me with more love. God revealed the principle of correction in D&C 121: “Reproving betimes with sharpness, when moved upon by the Holy Ghost; and then showing forth afterwards an increase in love.” It was a hard couple of days leading up to it, and then that one comment just did me in.

On the bright side, I was extremely humble this weekend. Having reached rock bottom, things could only get better. And they did. We saw a lot of success finding new investigators on Saturday and Sunday. On Sunday, we actually ate dinner with the member that threw the knockout punch on Friday night. That’s when I learned that she is a new convert. She comes from a tough background. Getting to know her made it easy to forgive her. And besides, she was right. It’s just one of those things to learn from and move forward.

Christ taught, “Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.”

I love you all!

穆長老

Elder Sam Moody

About 6moodys

Sam Moody serving as a full-time missionary for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
This entry was posted in Taichung. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment